Ration Card

Rice Diversity. Part of the image collection o...

Rice Diversity. Part of the image collection of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is itA ration card is issued under the authority of the state government, as per the public distribution system, enabling people to make purchases of essentials at discounted price from fair price shops.

Importance

  • A ration card is a very vital document for an Indian citizen.
  • Apart from providing essential goods at a subsidized rate, it also is a proof of residence and citizenship.
  •  It is also a must to get a passport, bank account, trade license, driving license, issue a card of employment exchange.
  • It acts as an important tool for identification while applying for other certificates like the Domicile Certificate, Voters ID Card.

How to get it: For new ration card, contact your local  Food and Civil Supplies department on any working days (i.e Monday-Friday) to obtain the application form for making a new consumer (Ration) card.

Note: You can also download the application form from the website of the Food and Supplies Department, Government of West Bengal. (weblink: http://www.wbfood.gov.in/rationing.php)

 Documents that are required are as follows:

  1. Passport sized photographs of the head of the family attested by a gazette officer/MLA/MP/Municipal Councillor,
  2. Voter identity card,
  3. A Rs. 2 worth of court fee stamp,
  4. The surrender/ Deletion Certificate of the previous Ration Card, if there was any,
  5. Specified proofs of residence.
  6.  Any one of the following documents as residential proof:
  • Receipt of tax payment
  • Document of rent agreement 
  • Gas bill
  • Bank passbook 
  • Electricity bill
  • Telephone bill
  • Letter mailed by post office in your house

In case you are not able to provide any proof of residence, the circle FSO conducts spot inquiries by recording the statements of two independent witnesses in your neighbourhood.

If a new born baby’s name is to be enlisted in the family ration card, then

  •  Go to Food and Commodities section of District collector Office
  •  Collect application form
  •  Indicate your relationship with your baby in the form

Additionally, the following documents are required along with the application form:

  •  Birth certificate of new born baby
  • Your marriage certificate
  • Parents’ ration card of your child, that is, you and your husband/wife’s ration card.

In the existing ration card, if you want to make any corrections, you need to fill up a form (available at http://www.wbfood.gov.in/rationing.php) and apply to the rationing officer of your locality with relevant documents. 

In case of change of address outside the Sub area, you must obtain a surrender certificate given by the previous ration office, get the ration cards cancelled from the Ration Office of issue and apply for a fresh ration card with the rationing officer of the changed area.

If you have lost your ration card, then file a diary with the police, fill up a form (available at http://www.wbfood.gov.in/rationing.php) and contact your local  Food and Civil Supplies department with all documents.

Note: Please carry all the documents with the hard copy of the application form (if downloaded from the website) both in original and photocopies.  Normally it takes 15 days for a Ration Card to be issued.

BPL, AAY and Annapurna ration cards are issued by the Rationing Officer on the basis of lists prepared by Panchayat and Rural Development Deptt. / Municipal Affairs Department.

Apart from Ration Cards being issued to individuals, such Cards are also issued to the Social Welfare Institution / NGOs on receipt of the following:-

  1.  Prayer / Application
  2.  Residential Proof
  3.  Certificate from Social Welfare Department
  4.  List of Inmates with supporting documents
  5.  Source of Income.

GrievancesYou can complain about any problem regarding collection of ration by dint of ‘public cell’ through an application or addressing – To, The Director, Public Grievance & Assistance Office, Khadya Bhavan, 11A Free School Street, Calcutta – 700 087.

Area Office throughout Calcutta

 

(I) Deputy Director of Rationing/Initial Area II :

 

(1) Shyampukur  Shed no.- 14  11A, Free School Street, Calcutta – 87
(2) Maniktala II  Shed no. – 6 11A, Free School Street, Calcutta – 87
(3) Jorasanko  Shed no. – 6 11A, Free School Street, Calcutta – 87
(4) Burrabazar  Shed no. – 6  11A, Free School Street, Calcutta – 87
(5) Park Street  50, Rippon Street, Calcutta – 16.
(6) Muchipara  70E, Ananda Palit Road, Calcutta – 14.
(7) Beliaghata P-20, Beliaghata Main Road, Calcutta – 85.
(8) Maniktala II 224, A.P.C. Road, Calcutta.
(9) Chitpur  224, A.P.C. Road, Calcutta.
(10) Amherst Street 116 Vivekananda Road, Calcutta – 6.
(11) Cossipore 5 K.C. Road, Calcutta – 2
(12) Burrabazar  3 Baipuntha Sen Lane, Burrabazar, Calcutta. 
   

(II) Deputy Director of Rationing/Initial Area I :

 

(1) Bhawanipore  51B, Kali Temple Road, Calcutta – 16
(2) Wartgunge 52B, Kali Temple Road, Calcutta – 26.
(3) Behala West  15A, S,M. Roy Road, Calcutta – 38.
(4) Garden Reach B-193 Garden Reach, Calcutta – 24 
(5) Tollygunge 145, Regent Park, Calcutta – 40.
(6) Jadavpur 40A, Southand Park, Calcutta – 29.
(7) Haltu  CIT Complex, Jadavpur.
(8) Ballygunge 24 Hindustan Park, Calcutta – 29. 
(9) Behala East P-656 Tollygunge Circular Road, Cal – 53.
(10) Beniapukur 5/10C Rifle Range Road, Cal – 19.
(11) New Alipore  12, Peary Mohan, Calcutta – 27.

41 Comments

Filed under Citizenship Document

41 responses to “Ration Card

  1. Originaly i am a ration card holder from vill. masra, sub-divission Rampur hat, dist. Birbhum, after marraige my fameily and the ration-dealer denied to surrender my card for transfer to new address, also i dont know the card no. Now what can i do for getting the ration card?

    • Dear Chiatali,

      Sorry for late response. Kindly file RTI act application to know your ration card number.

      • Chaitali Rajak,

        refer ur reply dt. July 27, 2014 at 3.43 pm, on my comment dt. March 04, 2014 at 6.05 pm,
        I hv collectd my Ration card no, is 0643112 , folio no. (60) 116, under sub-division Rampurhat , in the district Birbhum, WB, MR. deler Atul Dey at vilge Mashra,
        Now pl. infrm me how to change the address of my Ration card to my present address, also informing U that my Voter address, address of PAN card and Aadhar card already changed to my present address,

      • Osman Ali

        how i get my digital ration card, i am from west bengal

  2. chinmoy mondal

    I have lost father and mother 7years ago. In that time I have lost thire Ration card .But In this time I need thire Ration card . Please help me.

  3. dipankar ganguly

    Helo sir..
    i am dipankar ganguly., and my father ‘s name shankar ganguly, vill+p.o. kumarhat, p.s. Baruipur, dist. 24pgs(s).

    Sir i want to know to how i make to my Bpl card.

  4. One of my neighour wants to make a ration card,but she hasn’t voter Id.But she has a bank passbook.& the account is 14yrs old.How canshe able to get a Ration card??please reply.
    surajeetajoydas@gmail.com

  5. Dr Ayan Sen

    I Dr. Ayan Sen ask you how can i apply for new ration card and one ration card transfer from old place to new place without adult ?

  6. Indranil Chakravorty

    I am being harrased by the Ration shop owner of my locality on the below ground –

    As per the Ration shop owner, the ration card gets invalid aand needs to renew if the ration is not purchased within 24 days of last purchase date. He takes Rs.60/- for going to Adm office and get this renewed and mis-behave.
    I want to know if such rule exists and what is the remedy to geet this regularised.

  7. Shibnath Mukherjee

    Sir I want to verify to my Family Ration Card. Because due to digitalization of Ration Card, so I am worried about my ration card. Is it active?. Ration Card Details:-

    Name Folio No Card No

    Dilip Kumar Aich 4715 177150

    Mrs. Malati Aich 4717 177151

    Shibnath Mukherjee 8136 0678087

    Shankari Aich (Mukherjee) 8799 242761

    Pitamber Mukherjee 8800 242762

    So pls inform in my email ID-shibnathm2012@gmail.com. Pls solve my problem, just you will inform me my family Ration Card is OK.

    Thanking You.

    Regards
    Shibnath Mukherjee
    Chinsurah Hooghly

  8. BIKASH SAHOO

    plz.give me my ration card deatils
    Name.Bikash sahoo.
    vill+post..Tanua
    ps.Mohanpur
    dist.paschim medinipur.
    pin.721436
    west bengal .INDIA

  9. sujan kumar roy

    I want to verify my family ration card. Because I did not know if my and family ration card digitalised or not. If digitalised plz give me details. My address – village+p.o.- kishamat Das gram, p.s.- dinhata, dist.- cooch behar (w.b.), pin no.- 736135. Dealer name – Daneswari Roy.

    • Subhas Kr Biswas Sandipa Biswas Sumana Biswas

      I want to verify my family ration card I did non know if my and family ration crd digitalised or not. If digitalised plz give me details.My address B.C. BHAR ROAD PRANTIK CHANDANNAGORE DIST. HOOGHLY(W B) PIN 712136 Dealer name Velo da

  10. suranjan mondal

    Sir , actually i am confused about the new rationing processdure .

  11. ABU Raihan

    we have 8 ration card apl .4 card old and new card 1 year old.after transfer all cards in our nearby delar we didn’t get commodities. what should I do?

  12. Shibu Ray

    i am shibu ray ,chokowakheti, alipurduar.my family belong to category AAY . please sent me the list of goods per AAY holder.my gmail id is shiburay367@gmail.com

  13. MAMONI CHATTERJEE & PRASANJEET CHATTERJEE

    How I get my wife & son Ration Card

  14. west bengal resan card dist m

    alda rajnagar ne.kalindri high school help me

  15. Arup sarkar

    my name ‘arup sarkar’.digital card show’arun sarkar’ .name mistake. what can I do?
    also new ration card apply how my son name? his age 6 years. pls reply me. ..mob.9153536598.

  16. Nitai ch das

    Sir , i am nitai ch das from nitaich das.vil barjumla colony p.s. Raghunath ganj dist m.s.d. I cant get my whole familis digital ration card.how do ido?please solve this.

  17. jasabanta madhu

    Check My Ration Card

  18. The Gov. employ of kol r fuking they r always wrong spelling in every stage of documents lik adhar ,voter passport n now new digital card maximum r fukinggg employee !!!! Kindly follow n dismiss d fukinggg employees

  19. http://WWW.WBPDS.GOV.IN I WANT NFSA LIST IN HARIHAR PARA BLOCK DIS MURSHIDABAD VILL SRIPUR

  20. atanu chakraborty

    sir,
    my mother namely rama chakraborty stated that she saw her name included in govt. khadya suraksha first list but the ration dealer at malamba district burdwan pin no. 713426 denied to give her facility to draw rice at rs.2 /- per kg. kindly inform how can she get her facility

  21. niranjan chakraborty

    sir myself niranjan chakraborty
    s/o – nirmal chakraborty
    mother name-rajkumari chakraborty
    sister name- maya chakraborty
    l can’t find my family name of digital ration card . pleas do something.

  22. Gurupada mondal

    plz give me my ration card detail
    vill post=fuljhore ,Durgapur=713206, Burdwan , west Bengal

  23. Rakesh Sarkar

    I want to the information of all ration card of my family,NAME-RAKESH SARKAR,S/O-DINESH SARKAR,VL-MOHANPUR ENGLISH P.S.-HABIBPUR,DIST-MALDA

  24. pinaki ranjan ghosh.kolaghat.

    I want to new degital ration card .please said me for this prossesing. piease help me.

  25. pranesh chakraborty

    What are the different among different colours of ration card?

  26. I like to receive my digitized ration card which duly submitted,
    My address: 26, VIDYASAGAR ROAD, DUM DUM CANTONMENT. P. O. RABINDRANAGAR. P.S. DUM DUM, KOLKATA – 700065,
    NORTH 24 PARGANAS.

  27. raghunath paul

    I would like to get details of my digilal cards.Raghu nath Paul 22 W Rd, Dasnagar ,Howrah 711105

  28. sahadev chandra saha

    How can I check my name in ration card

  29. PARAMITA SEN

    I,Paramita Sen,like to draw your attention to the fact that dealer of ration shop no.AR 3800 of Baishnabghata Patuli,Kolkata-700094 refused to accept my form III-U duly filled in pertaining to self,my husband and my son as I have not received new smart ration cards though our existing ration cards were digitalised whereas I have come to know that other ration shops are accepting form III-U.Further,the said ration dealer is not supplying ration regularly which needs to be looked into.
    In view of the facts stated above,I seek your intervention in the matter and to take up the issue with the above ration dealer to find a solution.
    My mob no. 9831746740
    Email id: jhimu2014@gmail.com
    Thanking you.
    Dt. 16.03.2016. Yours s’ly
    Paramita Sen

  30. Sir,I don’t get new digital ration card. So what I do for getting the new ration card.please reply soon sir.
    Thanks you

  31. Sumitra Das Bose

    I has been submitted my form for dizital ration card for myself and child’s but still not I not get dizital ration card and ration items.Malda, englishbazar. Vinodpur anchal .ration shop in village Krishnanagar. Malda. West bengal

  32. Bijay prasad

    i am bijay prasad from alipurduar junction .w.B .
    i am in problem due to not supply correctly food.floor,and weat .please necessary action against him.

  33. bipul kumar

    I m from kulti.pl tell what is the criteria for bpl ration card.

  34. HARAPRASAD BAIRAGI

    I want to change the father’s name of my two daughters MITALI BAIRAGI ( Ration Card ID : PHH 0120857821) & PIYALI BAIRAGI ( Ration Card ID : PHH 0120857822) from APURBA KR. SIKDAR to HARAPRASAD BAIRAGI.
    Please do the needful in this regard at your earliest.
    Thanking you,
    Yours faithfully,
    HARAPRASAD BAIRAGI
    DHARAMPUR, SASTHITALA, P.O. CHINSURAH, DIST. HOOGHLY
    PIN – 712101, MOB : 9051346370
    Ration Card ID : PHH 0120857819

Leave a Reply

